Budget-Plan-Express - harmony planning
Strategic-Line

Investment analysis. Discounting (Present Value, PV)


Why does money get cheaper ... always

Regardless of the country and currency, money will always fall in price, and this is an objective process that is not associated with this or that economic management. Another thing is that there are additional factors - political, managerial, technical, etc., that affect inflation in each country in different ways. Now we are talking exclusively about the objective reasons for the depreciation of money, without taking into account artificial processes, manipulations by financial groups, central banks, etc.

Inflation (Present Value, PV)

The world's economy is a kind of organism that lives and develops according to objective laws; it “breathes” and grows since at least the 17th century, when the first paper bills appeared in Stockholm in 1661. Within a decade, the European economy received an estimated equivalent. Let me remind you that until the 19th century, almost all paper money had or sought to have a gold or silver equivalent.

So, the main reason for the depreciation of money is the permanent growth of the world economy, which never stopped, even during wars. Of course, there are short-term cycles of decline, growth ... but now is not about that. So, in 1980, the world GDP was 11.147 trillion. dollars, and after 40 years it grew 8 times - up to 83.84 trillion. dollars (at the beginning of 2020). Relatively speaking, if in 1980 it was possible to buy a villa, a sports car and something else exotic for a million dollars, then in 2020 you can only buy a sports car ...

✎ You are on the site of the developer of Budget-Plan Express - a software product for preparing business plans. This is the most affordable professional product in its class, and optimal for small businesses and studies (for students, MBI students, etc.) Details ...


Deducing of the formula of discounted money (Present Value, PV)

Discount is the determination of the value of future cash flows. Discount is the basis for calculating the cost of money taking into account the time factor.

To derive the discount formula, for starters, let us recall the calculation of annuities using the formula of complex rent. The same money, as you know, have different values over time. The use of interest in calculating the value of money is associated with the notion of financial rent, when the value of money depends on the percentage and duration of their use. For example, the cost of money (payments for a loan) in a year can be calculated as:

    А1 = А + A × r = A (1 + r),

    Where:
    А – Current value of money
    А1 – The future (in a year) cost of money
    r – annual percentage (coefficient)

    Then, in two years, the value of money can be calculated by the formula:

    А2 = A1 (1 + r) = А (1 + r) (1 + r) = A (1 + r)2,

    Accordingly, for n years the formula takes the form:

    Аn = An-1 (1 + r)n = A(1 + r)(1 + r)...(1 + r)n-1 = A (1 + r)n,    

    [1]

This formula [1] is known as the formula for calculating rent annuities (by complex percent). It is easy to understand that, for example, payments in intermediate periods are calculated as follows:

    Аmonth = A (1 + r)1/12A (1 + r)0,083
    Аquarter = A (1 + r)1/4 = A (1 + r)0,25
    Аhalf-year = A (1 + r)1/2 = A (1 + r)0,5 … and so on

Discounted cash flows are calculated using the reverse of complex rents. To do this, output the number A from the formula [1] - the cost of future money:

    A = An / (1 + r)n

And if we consider (instead of "А") a continuous discounted cash flow for n years (CFn, we can deduce from formula [1] the following formula – for total discounted cash flow (DCF):

    DCF = ∑ CFn / (1 + r)n

    Where:
    CFn – cash flow for n periods;
    r – discount rate (for example, weighted average cost of capital, WACC can be used as the discount rate);
    n – is the number of periods by which cash flows are calculated.

Now the coefficient r is the discount rate coefficient. In assessing the effectiveness of projects (business plans), the discount rate is a kind of risk level, beyond which investment indicators are calculated, sometimes called the discount rate barrier or "risk-free" rate. These concepts do not always coincide. Barrier rate, or the effective barrier rate is the interest rate that determines the minimum expected return on investment for a particular investor. If the expected return on investment is less than the barrier rate, the investment does not make sense.

To change the settings, see «General settings. Investment analysis».

Select your Budget-Plan Express licenses and pay in your personal account - in rubles or other currency






Share:

Budget-Plan-Express - гармония планирования
Strategic-Line

Инвестиционный анализ. Дисконтирование (Present Value, PV)


Выведение формулы дисконтированных денег (Present Value, PV)

Дисконтирование – – это определение стоимости денежных потоков, относящихся к будущим периодам. По сути дисконтирование (Present Value, PV) является необходимой корректировкой стоимости денег с учетом фактора времени, для последующего использования в расчетах.

Без учета дисконтирования невозможно построить корректный бизнес-план. Так как результат бизнес-плана, в конечном итоге — это показатели эффективности проекта, а те в свою очередь рассчитываются на основе дисконтированных денежных потоков (Discounted Cash Flow, DCF).


Почему деньги дешевеют… всегда

Независимо от страны и валюты, деньги будут всегда дешеветь, и это – объективный процесс, не связанный с тем или иным экономическим управлением. Другое дело, что есть дополнительный факторы – политические, управленческие, технические и т. д., влияющие на инфляцию в каждой стране по-разному. Сейчас говорим исключительно об объективный причинах обесценивания денег, без учета искусственных процессов, манипуляций финансовых групп, Центробанков и т. д.

Выведение формулы дисконтированных денег (Present Value, PV)

Экономика мира – это своеобразный организм, который живет и развивается по объективным законам, она «дышит» и растет как минимум с 17 века, когда в Стокгольме в 1661 году появились первые бумажные купюры. Буквально в течение десятка лет экономика Европы получила оценочный эквивалент. Напомню, до 19 века почти все бумажные деньги имели или стремились иметь золотой или серебряный эквивалент. В 1897—1899 годах министром финансов Сергеем Витте была проведена денежная реформа, ознаменовавшая введение в России золотого обращения… на смену серебряному рублю пришёл золотой рубль.

Итак, главная причина обесценивания денег – перманентный рост мировой экономики, который не прекращался никогда, даже во время войн. Конечно, есть кратковременные циклы падения, роста… но сейчас не об этом. Так, в 1980 году мировой ВВП был 11.147 трлн. долларов , а уже через 40 лет вырос в 8 раз – до 83.84 трлн. долларов (на начало 2020 года). Условно говоря, если в 1980 году на миллион долларов можно было купить виллу, спортивный автомобиль и еще что-нибудь экзотическое, то в 2020 году можно купить только спортивный автомобиль…


«Константа» денег. Выведем формулу приведения стоимости будущих денег к «настоящему»

Иначе говоря, деньги теряют свою покупательную способность по истечению какого-то времени, то есть, дешевеют. Эта особенность – основа метода дисконтирования. Следовательно, что для произведения верных расчетов нужно учитывать оценку на настоящий период времени, и продолжать все денежные движения в будущем, соотнося с сегодняшним днем.

Для выведения формулы дисконтирования, для начала, вспомним расчет аннуитетов по формуле сложной ренты. Одни и те же деньги, как известно, имеют разную стоимость во времени. Использование процента в расчете стоимости денег связано с понятием финансовой ренты, когда стоимость денег зависит от процента и длительности их использования. Например, стоимость денег (выплат за предоставленную ссуду) через год можно рассчитать, как:

    А1 = А + A × r = A (1 + r),

    Где:
    А – Текущая стоимость денег
    А1 – Будущая (через год) стоимость денег
    r – годовой процент (коэффициент)

    Тогда, через два года стоимость денег можно рассчитать по формуле:

    А2 = A1 (1 + r) = А (1 + r) (1 + r) = A (1 + r)2,

    Соответственно, для n лет формула принимает вид:

    Аn = An-1 (1 + r)n = A(1 + r)(1 + r)...(1 + r)n-1 = A (1 + r)n,    

    [1]

Эта формула [1] известна – как формула для расчета аннуитетов ренты (по сложным процентам). Легко понять, что, например, выплаты в промежуточные периоды по ней рассчитываются так:

    Амесяц = A (1 + r)1/12A (1 + r)0,083
    Аквартал = A (1 + r)1/4 = A (1 + r)0,25
    Аполугодие = A (1 + r)1/2 = A (1 + r)0,5 … и так далее

Дисконтированные денежные потоки рассчитываются по формуле, обратной сложной ренты. Для этого из формулы [1] нужно вывести число A – стоимость будущих денег:

    A = An / (1 + r)n

И если рассматривать (вместо «А») непрерывный дисконтированный денежный поток для n лет (CFn), можно вывести из формулы [1] следующую формулу – для суммарного дисконтированного денежного потока (DCF):

    DCF = ∑ CFn / (1 + r)n

    Где:
    CFn – денежный поток за n периодов;
    r – ставка дисконтирования (например, в качестве ставки дисконтирования может использоваться средневзвешенная стоимость капитала, WACC);
    n – количество периодов, по которым возникают денежные потоки.

Итак, теперь коэффициент r – коэффициент ставки дисконтирования. В оценки эффективности проектов (бизнес-планов), ставка дисконтирования является своеобразным уровнем риска, за пределами которого рассчитываются инвестиционные показатели, иногда ставку дисконтирования называют барьерной или «безрисковой» ставкой. Не всегда эти понятия совпадают. Барьерная ставка, или эффективная барьерная ставка – это процентная ставка, определяющая для конкретного инвестора минимальную ожидаемую отдачу от инвестиций. Если ожидаемая отдача от инвестиции меньше барьерной ставки, то вложение средств не имеет смысла.



Изменение параметров настроек – в разделе «Общие настройки. Инвестиционный анализ».






Поделиться:
© 2007-2021, +7 (925) 409-11-59 (10:00 - 18:00, МСК),   support@strategic-line.ru, написать